On Karma, influence and your mark in the world (Day #26)

Alex Barrera
3 min readDec 26, 2016

--

At TechChill 2016, having fun with friends.

The other day I got quoted by Eva. She was following up on one of my stories about love. I went through her writings, and I was happy to see that my friend Anca had persuaded her to join the 30 Days Writing Challenge.

Sometimes it’s amazing how things get into motion. You could describe the world as a complex dynamic system where a butterfly’s wings can change the course of history. I would rather see the world from the Karma perspective.

Most people look for resources outside of themselves. Their inability to do something about their life is someone else’s fault, always.

I hear many times that to create change you need money; you need power.Only a group of people can change the world,” they say. Most people look for resources outside of themselves. Their inability to do something about their life is someone else’s fault, always.

“It’s a world economy problem, it’s beyond our influence, it’s the politician’s fault.”

Even when they understand that they’re capable of change, they want more change, bigger change. We want to make an impact; we want people to remember us, to write books about us.

Just because we’re greedy, we stop making a difference to those around us.

I find it sad. Just because we’re greedy, we stop making a difference to those around us. I was like that long ago. I wanted to make a “dent in the universe.While I was planning to conquer the world, I was ignoring people that needed help all around me.

I’ve come to believe that a small gesture can have incredible repercussions. I’ve had my fair share of such situations. A comment here, a nudge there, a chat here, and it made a difference to someone.

I don’t want to change the world. I know I can’t. But I can touch people all around me. I can share my pain, my hurt, my lessons. I can inspire those that listen.

It might not change the world, but the disruption will go further than we think.

In exchange, these acts generate ripples. It’s like the pebble in the pond. It might not change the world, but the disruption will go further than we think. I’ve always believed in the saying “What goes around, comes around.” You help others, and the world will take care of you.

Luckily, we live in the age of social networks, and it’s easier than before to map or track some of the effects of what we do out there. I find it inspiring that by typing a few words on a blank page, I’m helping other people. Some will get into the habit of writing. Others will put out there valuable lessons, while some will find themselves again.

We keep forgetting that anyone can offer these gifts to others.

Words have magic; they have a soul. Stories have magic; they bring us together. Music has magic; it touches deep inside. We are all capable of talking, writing or singing. We are human; we are born to do these things. We keep forgetting that anyone can offer these gifts to others.

Gift the world with your soul, your emotions, your voice. While you might think it won’t make a difference, there will always be someone listening. There will always be someone you’ll make a difference to.

In exchange, this person will get inspired, touched. They’ll carry on that torch. They’ll feel the need to tell others, to spread those lessons, that melody, those words.

You might not recognize yourself in that goodness, but rest assure, that good is the compounded souls of everyone you once helped.

Your soul will spread. Will multiply, will touch many others. You might be lucky enough that it will reach back to you somehow. You might not recognize yourself in that goodness, but rest assure, that good is the compounded souls of everyone you once helped.

Be good, be nice and always remember that one word can and will change the world.

“If you think you are too small to make a difference, try sleeping with a mosquito.” ― Dalai Lama

This post is part of my 30 Days Writing Challenge. If you want to check out the previous post, here you have an index.

--

--

Alex Barrera

Chief Editor at The Aleph Report (@thealeph_report), CEO at Press42.com, Cofounder & associated editor @tech_eu, former editor @KernelMag.