Everyone needs an anchor (Day #23)

Alex Barrera
2 min readDec 23, 2016

--

Image credits: amanda tipton / Partners (Flickr)

Yesterday I was having coffee with a good friend, and I asked him what was with him being single.

“I don’t know; I am not focusing in that at the moment. I’m devoting all my energy to my project,” he replied.

I was a little shocked. He’s as handsome as you can get them. Nice guy, educated, smart, cute, speaks at least three languages that I know off.

He’s not the only one. I see a lot of people in the same situation. Some years ago they gave me a prize for a project I had presented. When they called me on stage, they asked me to give a speech. The first thing I told everyone was that I wouldn’t be there without my wife.

Entrepreneurship is hard work. It’s exhausting, demanding and takes long hours from your life. If done right, you don’t mind spending the time. It’s your baby; it’s your joy. You love working on what makes you happy. The more hours you pour into it, the closer you are to Olympus.

What people fail to see is that there is no Olympus.

Or more precisely, there is, but not where they’re looking for it. Working for long hours, sleep deprivation, isolation, lack of rest… It’s not healthy. It’s not what we should celebrate. It’s not what makes you happy.

What makes human happy is to share their joys with those they care the most. Your wife, your partner, your family, your friends. Having someone in your life is critical for a happy life, it’s also a must-have if you want to be a long-term entrepreneur.

No matter what happens, you will always have someone to go back to.

Success isn’t about the short-term. That’s easy; that’s luck. Success is about being happy with what you have at any point and be able to share it with those that matter. You will be lucky; you will be successful, and you will fail. But no matter what happens, you will always have someone to go back to. Someone important that will make sure you stay grounded in reality. Someone that will take your mind of the current troubles. Someone that will inspire you, that will teach you to be a better human being.

Humans aren’t designed to be alone. Find that person. Make sure you prioritize what’s important. Make time for it. Get out. Mingle. Enjoy. Life is a lot more than a set of apps.

This post is part of my 30 Days Writing Challenge. If you want to check out the previous post, here you have an index.

--

--

Alex Barrera

Chief Editor at The Aleph Report (@thealeph_report), CEO at Press42.com, Cofounder & associated editor @tech_eu, former editor @KernelMag.